Microwave Photonics


Microwave photonics is an area that studies the interaction between microwave and optical waves for the generation, distribution, control and processing of microwave signals by means of photonics. There are numerous applications of microwave photonics, such as optically controlled phased array antennas, fiber-fed wireless communication systems, radar, sensors, warfare systems, and instrumentation. In this lecture, an introduction to microwave photonics will be presented, then different topics of microwave photonics will be discussed, including,Photonic true time beamforming, Photonic processing of microwave signals, Photonic generation of microwave signals and arbitrary microwave waveforms, Radio over fiber and UWB over fiber, Photonic-assisted instantaneous microwave frequency measurement, Photonic analog-to-digital conversion. Challenges in implementing microwave photonics system and future research directions will also be discussed.


             Prof. Jianping Yao

Jianping Yao joined the School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, University of Ottawa, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada, as an Assistant Professor in 2001, where he became an Associate Professor in 2003, a Full Professor in 2006. He was appointed University Research Chair in Microwave Photonics in 2007. From July 2007 to June 2010, he was Director of the Ottawa-Carleton Institute for Electrical and Computer Engineering. Prior to joining the University of Ottawa, he was an Assistant Professor in the School of Electrical and Electronic Engineering, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore, from 1999 to 2011. Dr. Yao received the Ph.D. degree in electrical engineering from the Université de Toulon, France, in December 1997.

Dr. Yao has published more than 400 papers, including over 220 papers in peer-reviewed journals and 180 papers in conference proceedings. He is a Chair of numerous international conferences, symposia, and workshops, including Vice-TPC Chair of the 2007IEEE Microwave Photonics Conference, TPC Co-Chair of the 2009 and 2010 Asia-Pacific Microwave Photonics Conferences, TPC Chair of the 2010IEEE Microwave Photonics Conference, General Co-Chair of the 2011IEEE Microwave Photonics Conference, and TPC Co-Chair of the 2014 IEEE Microwave Photonics Conference.Dr. Yao received the 2005 International Creative Research Award at the University of Ottawa. He was the recipient of the 2007 George S. Glinski Award for Excellence in Research. Dr. Yao was selected to receive an inaugural OSA outstanding reviewer award in 2012.Currently, Prof. Yao serves as an IEEE Distinguished Microwave Lecturer for 2013-2015.

Dr. Yao is a registered Professional Engineer of Ontario. He is a Fellow of the IEEE, a Fellow of the Optical Society of America, and a Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Engineering.

 5/17/2013  2PM 

SEIEE 3-200